ALERT: 12/02/2016
Update: RESOLVED 12/02/2016
The following case was raised with the hosting provider and resolved at 8pm on the 12th of Feb. Not everyone was affected by this problem, there were 5 cases bought to my attention.
I have received 4 messages from people about error or bounce back messages being returned from some email addresses. They will look something like this:
host homestart-org-uk01b.mail.eo.outlook.com [213.199.154.87]
SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<xxxxxxx@xxxxxxxxxx.org.uk;>:
550 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [173.247.252.74] blocked using Spamhaus; To request removal from this list see http://www.spamhaus.org/lookup.lasso
(I have obscured the email address, they will all be different).
The red text offers the clue as to what is happening and what to do about it. Firstly if you see one of these make sure that you send a copy to me, and secondly click on the link in the message which goes to spamhaus.org and declare you are a user on this server and your domain is legitimate.
What has happened?
We are on a shared server, which means that in addition to every one I am hosting there are other people on there as well. If one of these other accounts is compromised somewhere and a hacker gets in, or one of the account holders is a spammer, then thousands of messages can be sent from the hosting. External companies and organisations have “honeypots” that trap spam messages and if they are detected then the spam source, in this case the server, is blacklisted. So everyone on that server is affected.
This is a very rare occurrence, the hosting company also does it’s own monitoring of traffic and generally detects spamming activity and traps it before it becomes a problem.
What have I done about it?
Starting last night I forwarded the error messages that people had sent to me and opened support tickets. I was not sure what the cause was. Having done a bit more research this morning and having been on chat with the hosting provider twice this morning, we have pin pointed the problem to a specific server where our mail is routed through, and confirmed that this server is on a blacklist.
So the hosting company are aware of it and addressing it. I will continue to monitor the situation.
Generally what they will do is switch all mail to another server IP address and then the problem goes away. I am waiting to hear if that has happened.
Who is affected?
Generally most mail will still get through and you will still receive email. However certain sources such as NHS, Government and local government and other large corporations will subscribe to blacklists to limit the volume of spam messages coming in. As most of you are charities then you will all be affected in some way.
I use two reseller accounts, one is based in the UK, if you have not seen any error messages coming back you are not affected by this problem.
Can I get around this problem?
The best approach if this problem is stopping your organisation from functioning is to use an email address not associated with your domain name. For example; hotmail, yahoo, gmail, btconnect, talktalk, etc as a temporary measure. This will allow you to continue to send email in the short term while we wait for this problem to be fixed.
When will it be fixed?
In short I don’t know, it is usually resolved in a few hours. I will chase the hosting company again if this problem is still there at 1pm UK time. I will also put a message at the top of this thread with any more news.
Should I be concerned about this?
Where you use a shared server irrespective of where it is located there is a risk it might be detected as a spam source by third parties if someone has done something either deliberately or by accident on the server. Many of you have come from HostPapa where it occurred regularly for short periods. If your server is at InMotion hosting then it is a very rare occurrence, and I know this company takes matters like this very seriously and monitors traffic entering and leaving the server.
Right now, I am not proposing to change the hosting provider. If you are concerned please contact me through the usual channels.

